Grade 11 Art FST

Artists’ Statement: Crap In Food

Rachel Leboff

 

For my Grade 11 art Final Summative, I chose to create art about the crap in food. My inspiration came from seeing the movie “Fed Up” which was about all the crap that people consume today, and how everyone is getting fat. I also just know a lot about eating healthy and stuff like that, because of my family. Originally, I just wanted to make something involving food, and then I thought of Kraft Dinner because it’s been my favourite food since I was six.

To execute my project I first bought spray paint, and lots of noodles, and coated all the noodles in it. I think they turned out pretty well, and not looking like food, which is what I was going for. Then I took a large box of Multi-Grain Cheerios, and painted that to look like a giant box of Kraft Dinner, which took a really long time. I also bought a giant spoon and bowl, and piled the noodles into it. The noodles I think make you look twice, because once you really see it, it definitely does not look like something anyone would want to eat.

Leave a comment